Two weeks after the iPhone 18 Pro Max went on sale, Apple has put its name to the complaint that had been filling support forums: some of these phones drop off the network and do not come back. In a statement given to 9to5Mac and MacRumors on 2 October 2026, the company said it had identified a fault affecting what it called a small number of iPhone 18 Pro Max users on AT&T, one that can leave the phone without service.
The statement has two halves, and they point in different directions. For a phone that still works, Apple says two updates are meant to help prevent the fault. For a phone that has already lost service, both outlets report Apple saying that no update will bring it back and the device has to be replaced. Below: what was confirmed and when, what to do if you own one, what is and is not known about the cause, and why this is a US story rather than a UK one.
What Apple has confirmed
Apple’s statement, as published by 9to5Mac (Chance Miller) and MacRumors (Joe Rossignol), makes four points. The fault affects iPhone 18 Pro Max phones on the AT&T network. It can cause the phone to lose service and be unable to make calls. iOS 27.0.1, released earlier in the week, and a carrier settings update issued on 2 October are together meant to help prevent it. And Apple strongly encourages every iPhone 18 Pro Max owner to install iOS 27.0.1 now.
The part that matters most was not in the quoted statement but in what Apple told the two outlets alongside it: the updates do not restore service on a phone that has already lost it. Those owners, Apple said, should contact Apple Support or AT&T, or go to an Apple Store or AT&T shop, for a hardware replacement. MacRumors adds that Apple says it has seen the fault only on the iPhone 18 Pro Max on AT&T, and that no other iPhone model or carrier is known to be affected.
| Question | What is known | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Which phones? | iPhone 18 Pro Max on the AT&T network | Apple statement, via 9to5Mac and MacRumors, 2 Oct 2026 |
| What happens? | The phone loses cellular service: no calls, texts or data, and SOS in the status bar | 9to5Mac, MacRumors |
| How many? | Apple: a small number. MacRumors: thousands of user reports across support forums | Apple statement; MacRumors |
| What prevents it? | iOS 27.0.1 (28 Sep) plus the AT&T carrier settings update (version 72.1, 2 Oct) | Apple statement; MacRumors |
| Already lost service? | Software will not restore it; the phone needs a hardware replacement | Apple, via 9to5Mac and MacRumors |
| Other iPhones or carriers? | None known to be affected | Apple, via MacRumors |
| Cause? | Not disclosed | MacRumors |
How the problem surfaced
The iPhone 18 Pro Max launched on 18 September, according to MacRumors. In the days that followed, AT&T customers began posting on Reddit, the Apple Support Community and the MacRumors Forums that their new phones could not reach the network for calls, texts or data, either all the time or on and off, and showed SOS where the signal bars should be.
On 28 September Apple released iOS 27.0.1. Its release notes, as 9to5Mac reported them, list three fixes: a restart linked to Face ID, a colour artifact in some photos, and an unresponsive touchscreen. Nothing in them mentions cellular service. We covered that release in our iOS 27.0.1 explainer, which went by the same notes.
On 1 October AT&T sent a text message to customers telling them to install iOS 27.0.1 immediately. MacRumors and 9to5Mac both reproduced it; the message warned that some phones may be unable to complete calls, texts or data, including calls to 911. Both outlets reported owners saying they had installed the update days earlier and still had no service.
The following day moved quickly. AT&T told MacRumors that it was working with Apple and that customers still having trouble could go to an Apple or AT&T shop. MacRumors, citing its contributor Aaron Perris, reported that Apple had pushed a new AT&T carrier settings version, 72.1, up from 72.0.2, and had begun requiring iOS 27.0.1 before an iPhone 18 Pro Max could be set up. Apple’s statement came later the same day.
The statement explains the mismatch between the carrier’s advice and its customers’ experience. AT&T was telling people to install an update, and people whose phones had already failed were saying it did nothing. Both were right. On Apple’s account the update is a preventive measure for phones that still work, not a repair for phones that do not.
What to do if you have one on AT&T
If the phone is working, do two things today. First, install iOS 27.0.1 from Settings, General, Software Update. Second, check for the carrier settings update. Apple told both outlets that it will download automatically over the next 14 days, and that you can trigger it yourself by opening Settings, then General, then About.
Apple’s own support page on carrier settings (published 17 March 2026) describes the same route: with the phone on Wi-Fi or a mobile connection, a prompt appears on the About screen if an update is waiting, and installation takes less than a minute. The same screen shows the installed version next to the carrier name, which is where MacRumors’s 72.1 figure can be checked. Apple’s wording is that the two updates work together, so do both rather than one.
If the phone already shows SOS and has stayed that way after updating, Apple’s position is that software will not fix it. Contact Apple Support or AT&T, or book a visit to an Apple Store or AT&T shop, and ask for a replacement under the iPhone 18 Pro Max AT&T issue Apple confirmed on 2 October. That date is worth quoting: MacRumors reported earlier the same day, before Apple’s statement, that some customers said a warranty replacement had been refused.
Either way, back the phone up while it still has a connection. A replacement means setting up from scratch, and our guide to transferring data to a new phone covers the order to do it in. And take AT&T’s 911 warning at face value: a phone that may be unable to place an emergency call is a reason to update tonight, not at the weekend.
Is the Qualcomm modem to blame?
It is the obvious suspect, and nobody with direct knowledge has said so. A TechInsights teardown reported by 9to5Mac on 19 September found that the iPhone 18 Pro Max sold in the United States uses Qualcomm’s Snapdragon X80 modem. The smaller iPhone 18 Pro uses Apple’s own C2 modem, and so, according to Apple’s specifications as 9to5Mac describes them, does the Pro Max in every other country.
So the one new iPhone with a Qualcomm modem is the one with the fault. MacRumors notes the same overlap and says it is unclear whether the modem difference is a factor; Apple has not disclosed a cause. Two details argue against jumping from overlap to explanation. 9to5Mac’s teardown report says the X80 is the modem used worldwide in last year’s iPhone 17 Pro and Pro Max (the phone in our iPhone 17 Pro review). And Apple says only AT&T is involved, not every US network the Qualcomm-equipped model runs on.
What Apple has described is a failure that software can head off but cannot undo. It has not said how that works, and until it does, any account of the mechanism is a guess.
US vs UK: why this is an American problem
Everything confirmed so far is specific to one US carrier. Apple says it has observed the fault only on AT&T, and the Pro Max sold outside the United States has a different modem from the US model. Nothing in Apple’s statement, or in the 9to5Mac and MacRumors reports, describes the fault on a UK network or on any carrier other than AT&T.
For a UK owner that means there is no action to take because of this story. iOS 27.0.1 is still worth installing for its own listed fixes, which are not tied to any one carrier. One gap is worth stating plainly: none of the reporting addresses a US-bought Pro Max used abroad, or on a US carrier other than AT&T, beyond Apple’s line that no other carrier is known to be affected.
Should you still buy or keep one?
If you bought directly from Apple in the US, the clock matters. Apple’s US Returns and Refunds page, read on 4 October 2026, gives 14 calendar days from the date you receive an item, and says products bought from other retailers must be returned under that retailer’s policy. MacRumors pointed out that 2 October was the last day for launch-day buyers. Anyone who received the phone later may still be inside the window; anyone who bought through AT&T should check AT&T’s terms.
For a new purchase on AT&T, the position is better than it was a week ago but not settled. MacRumors reports that the phone now has to take iOS 27.0.1 during setup, so it is updated before first use. Apple’s claim for the updates, though, is that they are meant to help prevent the fault, which is not the same as saying it cannot happen. If that uncertainty is not acceptable, MacRumors reports Apple saying that no other iPhone model, and no other carrier, is known to be affected.
Zen Tech Hub has not reviewed the iPhone 18 line, and our best smartphones guide predates its launch, so we are not offering a verdict on the phone itself. For the wider choice, our iPhone vs Android comparison sets out the trade-offs, and our Apple in 2026 overview follows the company’s year.
What Apple and AT&T have not said
Five things are still open. Apple has not explained the cause. It has not put a number on “small”, while MacRumors counts thousands of user reports. It has not announced a formal service programme; MacRumors says it is unclear whether one will follow, and reads Apple’s guidance as meaning Apple Stores will replace affected phones free of charge, though neither outlet quotes Apple on cost. Nobody has said whether a later release such as iOS 27.0.2 will be needed. And nothing has been said about whether a replacement phone is protected from the start.
Until those are answered, the advice is short. Update both pieces of software if you are on AT&T, keep a backup, and treat a phone stuck on SOS as a hardware claim rather than a settings problem.
FAQ
What is the iPhone 18 Pro Max AT&T issue?
Apple has confirmed that a small number of iPhone 18 Pro Max phones on AT&T can lose cellular service, leaving them unable to make calls and showing SOS in the status bar. Apple says iOS 27.0.1 and an AT&T carrier settings update issued on 2 October 2026 are meant to help prevent the fault. A phone that has already lost service cannot be restored by software and has to be replaced through Apple or AT&T.
Does iOS 27.0.1 fix the iPhone 18 Pro Max AT&T issue?
Not on a phone that has already lost service. Apple told 9to5Mac and MacRumors that iOS 27.0.1 and the AT&T carrier settings update are meant to help prevent the fault on phones that still work, and that they do not restore service on a device that has already lost it. Those phones need a hardware replacement.
How do I update AT&T carrier settings on an iPhone?
Open Settings, tap General, then About. Apple’s support page says a prompt appears there when a carrier settings update is available and that installing it takes less than a minute. Apple says the AT&T update for the iPhone 18 Pro Max will also download automatically over 14 days. MacRumors reports the new version is 72.1.
Why does my iPhone 18 Pro Max say SOS?
9to5Mac and MacRumors report that iPhone 18 Pro Max phones affected by the AT&T fault cannot connect to the network for calls, texts or data and show SOS in the status bar. If yours is on AT&T and stays on SOS after installing both updates, Apple’s guidance is to contact Apple Support or AT&T about a replacement.
Is the iPhone 18 Pro affected by the AT&T issue?
Apple says it has observed the fault only on the iPhone 18 Pro Max on AT&T, and MacRumors reports that no other iPhone model or carrier is known to be affected. The iPhone 18 Pro uses Apple’s C2 modem, while the US iPhone 18 Pro Max uses a Qualcomm modem. Apple has not said whether that difference is the cause.
Does the iPhone 18 Pro Max AT&T issue affect UK phones?
Nothing in Apple’s statement or in the reporting describes the fault on a UK network. Apple says it has seen the issue only on AT&T, a US carrier, and the iPhone 18 Pro Max sold outside the United States uses Apple’s C2 modem rather than the Qualcomm modem in the US model.
Will Apple replace an affected iPhone 18 Pro Max for free?
Apple says a phone that has lost service needs a hardware replacement and directs owners to Apple Support, AT&T, an Apple Store or an AT&T shop. It has not announced a formal service programme. MacRumors reads the guidance as meaning Apple Stores will replace affected phones at no charge, but neither outlet quotes Apple on cost.
Zen Tech Hub may earn a commission from links on this page, at no extra cost to you.